From drab to fab…Outdoor planter bench

I recently finished upcycling my old planter bench. I had bought this maybe couple years ago? It had been sitting outside in the sun, snow, ice storm…what have you, without being taken care of. Last couple years, we’ve had some rough winter storms and this poor bench had started to look awful and gross. Then came the decision whether to chuck it or restore it (as you can see in the picture below)? There was some wood cracking going on as well. I told M that I’ll try to restore it and see how it goes. Thus, began the upcycling of this sorry looking bench.

Before

I cleaned and sanded down the bench as much as I could without causing further damage. I also used some wood glue to fill in the cracks and made sure it wouldn’t break down during my restoration process. I’ve never used wood glue before so the process was messy for me. Sanded it again after the glue dried to smooth the surface. Let it sit overnight. I had some leftover paint but, I was thinking of giving it a two tone effect. I wanted it to “pop” as it was going to sit between bunch of green trees. I decided to go with a blue/yellow theme mainly cuz of the sun pic in there. I already had blue paint so I just needed some yellow paint. I got a small sample can of outdoor yellow paint from Home depot which cost me like $3? M took the bench apart for me to paint. I used 1 coat of all-purpose white primer. Then, I did couple of coats of paint using a foam brush (cuz they are cheap and I can just throw them away). Finally, I finished it off with the Rustoleum clear coat in glossy finish to seal the paint and protect it from harsh weather. I love that stuff.

Here’s the bench in all it’s glory. I think it came out pretty good (relatively speaking). For fun, I decided to paint the eyes and noses of the creatures in black except the sun, for which, I used orange :D. Why not? It took me little over a week (I think) from start to finish. The only reason it took me so long is that it is my hobby and I only get little time during weekdays to dedicate to stuff like this.

Now, I just need some pretty plants…maybe, jasmine or mini roses? Or Magnolia? What do you think?

After

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

